Week 1 // Art Experience // Landscape with a Corpse

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’ve lived in the same house for almost 14 years. Underneath my neighborhood, there is a ditch. For 9 years, I walked along this ditch after school.(this was before I could drive) In high school, I would come to the ditch to smoke. My team used to run along this ditch for track & field practice on days the track was damp due to the rain from the night before. If I had a bad day, I would come to the ditch. I walked this ditch for a year with a boy I had a crush on. (he was my neighbor and he still doesn’t know I had a crush on him) I grew up this in ditch.

I haven’t been back in the ditch since graduating, until this project. It brought back a flood of memories.

There is something comforting about dying in a place that holds sentimental value. These images show my lifeless body lying in the ditch I grew up in. I’ve over dosed on heroin. I wouldn’t be surprised if there are people before me who took their last breath in this ditch in a similar fashion.

My brother and I timed the sunset to capture these images. We don’t hang out all that much anymore so I’m glad we got to spend time together this weekend.

One thought on “Week 1 // Art Experience // Landscape with a Corpse

Leave a Reply

